Gov. Abercrombie recognizes Hawaii teachers’ commitment to excellence

Proclaiming Jan. 25 to be Hawaii National Board Certified Teachers Day, Gov. Neil Abercrombie joined representatives of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards and the Hawaii Teacher Standards Board in congratulating Hawaii’s 65 schoolteachers statewide who this year earned National Board certification. They add to the ranks of 343 other Hawaii teachers who have their National Board certification.

In addition, 16 teachers this year have renewed their National Board certification for 10 years by going through a process designed to help them build on the ongoing and complex professional growth process that supports accomplished teaching.

“These exemplary educators have made an immense investment in their professional growth and for their students,” Abercrombie said. “We look forward to their continued contributions to their students’ future, mentoring and coaching colleagues to improve their effectiveness in the classroom, and advancing the profession.”

National Board-certified teachers must demonstrate their knowledge and skills through an extensive series of performance-based assessments that include teaching portfolios, student work samples, videotapes and a thorough analysis of their own classroom teaching and student learning. Candidates for National Board certification also complete a series of written exercises of their subject content knowledge, as well as their understanding of how to teach the subject to their students.

Newly National Board-certified teachers from Maui County are Angie Abe, Kamehameha Maui High School; Lory Aiwohi, Kamehameha Maui High School; Shannon Alueta, Baldwin High School; Ketra Arcas, King Kekaulike High School; Perry Buchalter, Molokai High School; Lisa Correa, Kamehameha Maui High School; Lyla Eldredge, Kamehameha Maui High School; Lisa Fanning, Pomaikai Elementary School; Suzanne Forbes, Kihei Elementary School; Jamie Holtvedt, Kamehameha III Elementary School; Jon Kimoto, Kamehameha Schools Maui Campus; Margaret Kono, Kamehameha Maui High School; Nicole McCombs, Kamehameha III Elementary School; Liane Nakamura, Kamehameha Schools Maui Campus; Kristi Nitta, Waihee Elementary School; Kathleen Royer, Kamehameha III Elementary School; Phyllis Sone, Kamehameha-Maui High School; Brandi Spalding, King Kekaulike; Bronwyn Tatman, Maui High; and Jun Wu, Lahaina Intermediate School.

Renewing National Board-certified teachers from Maui County are Elizabeth Delyon, Makawao Elementary School; Judy Honeychurch Locke, Hawaii Department of Education; Roberta Kokx, Kihei Elementary School; and Liane Otani-Nakagawa, Maui District Office.