StarWish announces scholarship recipients

StarWish, a Lahaina-based nonprofit organization founded by associates of Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, has announced its 2013 scholarship recipients.

StarWish awarded a total of $14,000 to 26 students to use toward college tuition: Jinky Aguiran, Raquel Casio, Leigh Corpuz, April Joy Damo, Brittany Joan Damo, Maricar Daoang, German Failano Jr., Aileen Ferrer, Alyssa Ferrer, Orlando Ferrer Jr., Princess Karen Galano, Daniel Galano, Leilani Cruz Garcia, Samuel Kiek, Hailey Kowalski, Taylor Kowalski, Fredelyn Princess Misay, Fredeliz Misay, Kaelyn Nakamura-Kowalski, Bianca Nicolas, Quinten Pagan, Shaynna Palasique, Chemille Quilos, Jenica Salvador, Rozcel Santos and Brendan Marc Tomas.

StarWish was founded in 2004 by a group of Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa associates to raise money to support their children and grandchildren by providing annual educational scholarships.

“StarWish is committed to investing in the Sheraton Maui ‘Ohana and our next generation,” said Nicha Attawut, StarWish president.

“We raise funds through car washes, bake sales, silent auctions, and by recycling bottles and cans through the HI-5 program.”