Filipino Chamber of Commerce seeks nominations for leadership awards

Nominations are being sought for the 2013 Gintong Pamana Leadership Awards sponsored by the Maui Filipino Chamber of Commerce.

“Since 1995, the Maui Filipino Chamber of Commerce has presented the Gintong Pamana Leadership Awards to members of Maui’s Filipino community for their leadership and community service,” said Sharon Zalsos, president of the Maui Filipino Chamber of Commerce. “Past honorees have included Vince Bagoyo Jr. (1998), Richard Caldito (2006), Gilbert Keith-Agaran (1995), B. Martin Luna (1997), Erlinda Rosario (1996), and Roger and Tina Santos (2000).”

“This is the most prestigious leadership award bestowed in Maui’s Filipino community,” added Melen Agcolicol, event chairperson.

Nomination forms are available online at Sponsorship and advertising packages for the event are also available online.

Honorees will be selected by a panel of judges, based on their demonstrated leadership and service to the Maui community, said Benjamin Acob, nominations chairperson. Nominations should be postmarked by May 10.

The Gintong Pamana Leadership & Scholarship Awards Banquet will be held June 19 at the Maui Beach Hotel and will include the presentation of the Maui Filipino Chamber Foundation’s 2013 Scholarship Recipients.

The Maui Filipino Chamber was established in 1994; its mission is to promote, represent and advocate for the interests of the business community in Maui County.