Student winners from Maui announced in advertising and graphics showcase

Winners of the advertising and graphics showcase at the Hawaii STEM Conference held last month in Wailea were announced.

The event was held at the Grand Wailea and the Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa on April 18 and 19. Students from around the state participated in the event.

In the fourth annual 3Cs Advertising Competition, 13 teams of students worked to create a promotional package for a surprise client that was revealed on the day of the competition.

This year, the client ended up being the Grand Wailea’s youth adult recreational facility “The Rock.”

Teams were given nine hours to produce a promotional package, including a commercial, logo, brochure and promotional items.

Teams also were required to present their package and ideas to the client, who scored their packages and presentations based on creativity, functionality and technical skill.

The winners of the advertising contest by place, school and team members follow:

* Intermediate School Division – first, Maui Waena Intermediate School, Justin Yago, Renezel Lagran, Kaycee Arase, Jaelyn Onnagan; second, Lahaina Intermediate School, Casey Arakaki, Shania Abut, Maya Ryan; third, Lahaina Intermediate School, Jared Gaastra, Cooper Vanderlaan, Kyle Shultz, Reece Green.

* High School Divison – first, Baldwin High School, Gina Mae Dumangeng, Kiegan Otterson, Jordan Patao, Andrew Teoh; second, Roosevelt High School, Rebecca Au, Victor Nhieu, Kia Werkmeister, Shareef Parran; third, Maui High School, Adreienne Sayno, Lealani Galvin, Emma Pastor, Michelle Suyama; honorable mention, Regina Prudenciano, Julie Rasos, Michelle Gima, Rachael Borreta.

The Graphics Showcase was a pre-conference competition, composed of work from Baldwin, Lahainaluna and Maui high schools.

Students created and submitted work that was judged by industry professionals from SaeDesign and Gilbert and Associates. This year’s showcase featured a total of 66 entries with winning entries displayed at the Wailea Marriott at the conference.

The winners of the Graphics Showcase follow by place, name and school:

* Beginning Division-CD/DVD cover – first, Genevieve Layante, Lahainaluna; second, Alani Blando, Maui High; third, Dylan Berzabal, Lahainaluna; honorable mention, Noah Galvin, Maui High.

* Beginning Division-poster/flier/invitation – first, Julie Rasos, Maui High; second, Jennifer Aleysa Martin, Baldwin; third, Janelle Feliciano, Maui High; honorable mention, Dylan Berzabal, Lahainaluna.

* Beginning Division-informational layout – first, Bridget Joy, Lahainaluna; second, Candace Hanneman, Lahainaluna; third, Leiana Beyer, Lahainaluna.

* Beginning Division-business card and letterhead – first, Shantel Longboy, Maui High; second, Katya Brody, Lahainaluna; third, Kyle Bush, Maui High; honorable mention, Aulana Lee, Lahainaluna.

* Beginning Division-logo – first, Kailey Sager, Lahainaluna; second, Jennifer Aleysa Martin, Baldwin; third, Gina Dumangeng, Baldwin; honorable mention, Maddi Vasquez, Lahainaluna.

* Advanced Division-CD/DVD cover – first, Ashley Caarang, Maui High; second (tie), Stephaine Lawless, Lahainaluna, and Chelsea Caarang, Maui High; third (tie), Maddi Vasquez, Lahainaluna, and Ronneth Aspilla, Maui High; honorable mention, Jeffrelyn Tagayuna, Lahainaluna.

* Advanced Division-poster/flier/invitation – first, Lealani Galvin, Maui High; second, Brittney Queral, Maui High; third, Zachary Taylor, Maui High; honorable mention, Terra Miller, Lahainaluna.

* Advanced Division-informational layout – first, Regina Prudenciano, Maui High; second, Adrienne Sayno, Maui High; third, Kristi Togashi, Lahainaluna; honorable mention, Kristine Urbanez, Maui High.

* Advanced Division-business card and letterhead – first, Keisha Arquero, Maui High; second, Samantha Fenton, Maui High; third, Kailey Sager, Lahainaluna; honorable mention, Jordan Patao, Baldwin.

* Advanced Division-logo – first, Angelo Sanakli, Maui High; second, Jordan Patao, Baldwin; third, Adrienne Sayno, Maui High; honorable mention, Jeffrelyn Tagayuna, Lahainaluna.