Students win video awards

Maui Waena Intermediate and Maui High school video entries captured significant awards at the 2013 HMSA Teen Video Awards, announced Wednesday in a Hollywood-style red carpet event at the Hawaii Convention Center in Honolulu.

The Kahului intermediate school took home three best of show honors, including “Best Middle School Entry,” for “Not A Game.” The 30-second entry about drinking and driving was put together by Renee Matsuda, Rosie Almen, Rexie Butihi, Vinrichie Bongcaron and Deezan Ramiscal.

Maui Waena took all three places in the Best Middle School category with second place video “Addiction” by Yasha Ronquillo, Zain Jabbar, Michaela Manuel-Sagon, Micah Saki and Crysta Kahanane; and third place video “Define Yourself ” by Jordyn Smith, Kyra Duldulao and Valerie Bascaur-Fernandez.

The Maui Waena videographers are led by their teacher Jennifer Suzuki.

Maui High videographer Zoe Whitney captured the “Voters’ Choice Award” for her 30-second video “Your Dream Energy Booster.” The energy booster is sleep.

Whitney’s public service announcement received the most votes from the public on HMSA’s YouTube channel. In all, the videos that were posted received more than 17,660 views and 2,599 votes.

“The Voters’ Choice is one of our favorite categories because students encourage their friends, family, teachers and their community to watch these amazing videos they’ve produced,” said Elisa Yadao, HMSA’s senior vice president of consumer experience. “The level of talent these students display gets better and better each year, and it’s thanks to their efforts that more people are thinking about the important health issues facing teenagers today.”

Whitney’s teacher was Clint Gima.

The Maui Waena video “Not a Game” also captured first place in the “Addiction Prevention” category and received a special award from MADD Hawaii.

Waianae junior Courtney Anne Aboy and her team took the “Best of Show” honor for their PSA, “Love Bag” about domestic violence. Their school received a total of $2,000 to be used for video equipment or software for their schools.

First-place winners in each category received $1,000; second- and third-place winners received $500 and $250, respectively. The Best of Show winner received an additional $1,000. The Best Middle School entry received $1,000. The Voters’ Choice winner received $500.

To view the winning videos, go to