Eleven Maui students receive Takitani Foundation awards

The Mamoru and Aiko Takitani Foundation awarded Mark Galiza from Maui High School a $3,000 scholarship as the district winner from Maui in its scholarship award program.

The son of Nida Galiza is the student body president and a member of the National Honor Society, the Key Club, the Interact Club and Vex Robotics. He was on the honor roll for all his high school years.

Ten seniors from other Maui schools received $1,000 scholarships: Lehulu Oliveira of Hana High School, Sarah Abe of Baldwin High School, Michaela Thompson of King Kekaulike High School, Bailey Pendergast of Lahainaluna High School, Melissa Ann Agcaoli of Lanai High and Elementary School, and Michael Kikukawa of Molokai High School.

Takitani award recipients of $1,000 from the Hawaii Association of Independent Schools on Maui are Sai Furukawa from Kamehameha Schools Maui, Kawaiola Wendt from Maui Preparatory Academy and Ariella Kainrath from Seabury Hall. The $1,000 award recipient from the Hawaii Catholic Schools on Maui is Madeline Dixon of St. Anthony Junior-Senior High School.

The students were among 63 recipients – one from each qualifying public and independent school in the state – who received scholarships based on academic achievement, community service and financial need.

In total, the foundation awarded $99,000 in scholarships this year.

Mamoru and Aiko Takitani founded Hawaiian Host Inc., manufacturer of Hawaiian Host chocolates.