Lahainaluna students win national music awards

The Lahainaluna High School Music Performing Arts program presented five national music awards to outstanding students at its music department banquet in May.

Jeannie Ramelb was presented with the 2013 John Philip Sousa Band Award, which honors the top student in a high school band.

Created in 1955, the award was developed with the cooperation of daughters Helen Sousa Albert and Priscilla Sousa and is the pinnacle of achievement for high school band students.

Nicholas Agdeppa and Mary Eileen Varquez Pineda are the recipients of the 2013 National School Choral Award. The award is the highest honor for high school choral performers.

Bailey Pendergast was presented with the 2013 National School Marching Award for her outstanding contribution to the Luna Marching Band.

Justin Lizada was presented with the 2013 Louis Armstrong Jazz Award.

The award is presented to students who shown outstanding achievements in the field of jazz as demonstrated through superior musicianship, character and individual creativity.

Addtional students from the class of 2013 were awarded customized jackets.

To qualify, the student must be enrolled in the music department for four consecutive years. They are Leanne Alibin, Hayden Bogar, Shaylee Bonds, Lark Canico, Lakiesha Ching, Jolimar Espiritu, Sydney Fousek, Robert Griffith, Marla Ito, Justin Lizada, Kirstie Moore, Bailey Pendergast, Jeannie Ramelb and Kalani Stephens.