Association awards 8 scholarships

The Wailea Community Association awarded scholarships totaling $20,000 to eight Maui County seniors at a reception held in their honor at Longhi’s restaurant at The Shops at Wailea.

Recipients were selected based on academic transcripts, letters of recommendation, school-related awards, community service and a personal statement of their educational plans, career and personal goals, according to a release.

The 2014 Wailea Community Association scholarship recipients are: Kaegil Concepcion, Lahainaluna High School – attending University of Hawaii; Katharine Ornelas, Maui Preparatory Academy – attending George Washington University; Seanna Yoshioka, Baldwin High School – attending Pacific University; Racieli Andrada, Maui High School – attending California State Polytechnic; Michael Kalmeta, Seabury Hall – attending Northeastern University; Aileen Ballesteros, King Kekaulike High School – attending University of Hawaii; Nash Wuthrich, Baldwin – attending Gonzaga University; and Caulin-Nelson-Angelsea, Molokai High School – attending University of Colorado Denver.