Maui Rotary clubs celebrate induction of club presidents

For the first time in the history of the Rotary clubs on Maui, the presidents of each of the 10 Maui clubs were inducted into their positions at one all-island ceremony at the Maui Tropical Plantation on June 27. Over 100 Rotary members and guests attended.

The event was hosted by Master of Ceremonies Kathy Collins. Mayor Alan Arakawa addressed the attendees.

Eleven of the Rotary District 5000 past and upcoming district governors served as the induction officers. Current District Gov. Phil Sammer administered the oath of office and District Gov.-elect Laura Steelquist shared a discourse titled, “Talking Story About Rotary.”

Kumu Kainoa Horcajo offered a blessing.

Presidents and board members of the Maui Rotary clubs for 2014-15 follow:

Rotary Club of Kahului: Co-Presidents Alexis Dascoulias and Anders Lyons, President-elect Kelli Myers, Secretary Kelli Myers, Treaurer Kris Baptiste.

Rotary Club of Kihei Sunrise: President Joanne Doell, President-elect Ron Capanash, Secretary Joanne Laird, Treasurer Christine Pawliuk.

Rotary Club of Kihei Wailea: President Jim Calandra, President-elect Ron Harris, Secretary Hayley Wood, Treasuer Stuart Karlan.

Rotary Club of Lahaina: President Mila Salvador, President-elect Leah Lambros, Secretary Richard Jarman, Treasurer Rick Nava.

Rotary Club of Lahaina Sunrise: President Skeeter Stebbins, President-elect Tera Paleka, Secretary Ann Neizman, Treasurer Judy Sheller.

Rotary Club of Lahaina Sunset: Co-Presidents Jim Fahnestock and Liz May, President-elect Sandy Schneider, Secretary Phylecia Platte, Treasurer Jim Fahnestock.

Rotary Club of Maui: President Colleen Welty, President-elect Ari Romero, Secretary Ari Romero, Treasurer Brian Moto.

Rotary Club of Upcountry: President Wendy Hornack, President-elect Zak Pacholl, Secretary Linda Shibano, Treasurer Dick Thompson.

Rotary Club of Valley Isle Sunset: President Doris Prockette, President-elect to be announced, Secretary Sarah Davis, Treasurer Wendy Acosta.

Rotary Club of Wailuku: President Mark Sitts, President-elect Ted Clement, Secretary Priscilla Yamamura, Treasurer John Roberts.