Three Maui County educators part of state teacher fellowship program

The state Department of Education has announced the selection of 17 public school educators, including three Maui County educators, to the Hope Street Group’s inaugural Hawaii State Teacher Fellows.

Together with the DOE and the Hawaii State Teachers Association, the fellows will voice teacher perceptions and potential solutions to issues educators face in implementing the Hawaii Common Core.

Maui County teachers selected to be fellows are: Ruth Ballinger (Puunene – Maui District), Michelle June Fujie (Lanai High and Elementary) and Sharon M. Look (Paia Elementary).

Through the partnership, the group will be trained in peer and community engagement, data collection and media strategies – all with the intent of sharing information with the community.

Fellows will also collect input from their peers to present to the DOE, according to a news release.

“The development of the Hawaii State Teacher Fellows is a tremendous step toward our shared commitment to engage teachers at every level,” said Superintendent Kathryn Matayoshi. “This collaborative program will reinforce our strategic work toward student and staff success in our schools. We’re grateful to our partners for their commitment and support in this effort.”