School honors students and volunteers

Foundation presents annual awards

The annual Iao School Renaissance Foundation recognition ceremony was held on May 2 and honored top academic performers and volunteers with scholarships in various disciplines from the 6th through 8th grades.

The Renaissance Foundation, which funds the awards, promotes academic excellence and encourages students to contribute to their community, a news release said.

Outstanding Academic Student Awards were presented to 8th-graders Michael Wong and Erin Mukai. They both received $250.

The Masao Okasako Award for Outstanding Community Service went to 8th-grader Erin Kobashigawa, who received a $100 award. Okasako was a former principal of Iao Intermediate School who was an active Boy Scout leader and member of the Lions Club. The award recognizes students who exemplify service to the school and their community.

Scholarship winners by discipline, who received awards ranging from $50 to $100, were:

• Language Arts: 6th grade — Taylie Teraoka, $100; Sarang Kim, $75. 7th grade — Payten Shimizu, $100; Zeriyah Kaina, $75; Adam Juan, $50. 8th grade — Emma Endo, $100.

• Math: 6th grade — Eric Hwang, $100; Akila Iguchi, $75; Jaslyn Kaeha-Nahoopii, $50. 7th grade — Dan Vu, $100. 8th grade — Quinton Wong, $100.

• Science: 6th grade — Samara Ricarde, $100; Sally Citrawireja, $75. 7th grade – Sydney Truong, $100; Matthew Takakura, $75; Ric Aaron Lomboy, $50. 8th grade — Kaylee Tsutsui, $100.

• Social Studies: 6th grade — William George, $100. 7th grade — Gabriel Alfred Morales, $100; Drake Breitbach, $75. 8th grade — Axel Kibby, $100.

• PE/Health: 7th grade — Deena Kiyabu, $100.

• Fine Arts: 7th grade — Caitlin Ramiscal, $100; Nanea Ah You, $75.

• VO-Tech Media: 7th grade — Olivia Fukushima, $100.

Platinum Scholars award winners (three years of Gold awards for GPA 3.8-4.0) include 8th-graders Aden Kinoshita, Erin Kobashigawa, Erin Mukai, Erin Ong, Erin Taketa, Michael Wong and Quinton Wong.

Premier sponsors for the Renaissance program include the late Dr. James and Emi Furukawa, and the late Masao Okasako and family.

James Furukawa was a retired professor from Towson University in Maryland who was born on Maui. He and his widow, Emi Furukawa, have been major scholarship sponsors and supporters of academic recognition for Iao Intermediate School students, a news release said.

Major sponsors (donating $500 to $999) for the program include the Kahului/Wailuku Kumon Center, Nagamine Photo Studio and Printers Inc.

Special sponsors ($250 to $499) are the Benevity Community Impact Fund, Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea, RICOH Business Solutions and Valley Isle Produce dba VIP Foodservice.

Friends of Iao Renaissance (up to $249) include Dr. Patti K.M. Endo, Guy M. Horie, Patrick Ing, Linda Paine and Russell Lenthall, Durwin and Debbie Kiyabu, and Panda Restaurant Group.

The annual award for Outstanding Business Partner was presented to the late Masao Okasako and family for continuing to fund the scholarship award in their name.