Maui County students and schools honored at HMSA event on Oahu

Shown are Tim Johns, HMSA chief consumer officer (from left); Dorian Raboy-McGowan, Kamehameha Schools Maui; Alexa Narayan, Maui Preparatory Academy; Roderick Sumagit, athletic director, Lanai High School; and Jon Viela, athletic director, Kamehameha Schools Maui.

Two Maui County schools and two students were among nine high schools and 15 students honored at 2017 Hawaii Medical Service Association Kaimana Awards & Scholarship Program luncheon on June 10 at the Hawaii Convention Center.

The 15 students received scholarships worth $5,000.

The nine high schools were recognized for achieving the highest program scores in their league (classified by enrollment) in academics, athletics, community service, healthy activities and sportsmanship.

The nine schools received a check for $1,500.

The following Maui County schools and students were honored:

• Small School (fewer than 350 students): Lanai High School.

• Large School: (350 students or more): Kamehameha Schools Maui.

• Alexa Narayan, Maui Preparatory Academy.

• Dorian Raboy-McGowan, Kamehameha Schools Maui.