Ka Lima O Maui presents awards

Ka Lima O Maui held its annual meeting Nov. 16 at the Velma McWayne Santos Community Center to mark 62 years of “Enhancing Lives through Self-Reliance” for persons with disabilities.

The annual meeting was a chance for board members, staff, clients and community partners to gather together to celebrate the many achievements accomplished throughout the year. The event and awards presentation included a Thanksgiving luncheon.

Several masters of ceremonies were used throughout the event: Brandon DeCambra, Matthew Wanderscheid, Clyde Kaea, Nathan Rosberg, Jonah Vierra, Jamie Apan, Ryan Behn and Arlena Tallant.

The special guest speaker was Maui County Mayor Alan Arakawa.

Nine awards were given at the meeting to show recognition for those who contributed to Ka Lima O Maui and its mission. The categories and winners were: Ambassador of the Year — awarded posthumously to Hans Riecke; Contractor of the Year — Everett Dowling (Kulamalu Town Center Association); Custodial Employee of the Year — Karl Pastor; Grounds Employee of the Year — Daniel Rodriguez; Waiver Participant of the Year — Jennifer Galicinao; Job Placement of the Year — Joanna Ganiban; Employer of the Year — The Home Depot; and Staff of the Year — Leanne Tsubaki.

Ka Lima O Maui provides a variety of different services, such as grounds and custodial services, job placement programs and the Medicaid waiver program.

To find out more, visit www.kalimaomaui.org or contact Debbie Wanderscheid at Debbie@kalimaomaui.org or 244-5502.