Arakawa, council incumbents to defend seats

Mayor Alan Arakawa and five Maui County Council incumbents have checked out nomination papers for re-election to their respective offices, according to the Maui County Clerk’s Office.

Arakawa is seeking his second consecutive four-year term and his third overall.

As of the end of Wednesday, council members pulling nomination papers included Gladys Baisa (Upcountry), Bob Carroll (East Maui), Don Couch (South Maui), Elle Cochran (West Maui) and Stacy Crivello (Molokai).

Democratic state Sen. Gil Keith-Agaran (Central Maui) also took out nomination papers.

Four candidates checked out nomination papers to run for mayor. They are Tamara Paltin, Ori Kopelman, Alana Kay and Carson Nemoto.

Butch Kaala Buenconsejo signed out filing papers for the council’s West Maui residency seat. John Fitzpatrick pulled papers for the South Maui council seat, and Alberta de Jetley took the first step to be a candidate for the Lanai council seat held by Council Member Riki Hokama.

For state House and Senate seats, Republican Chayne Marten took out papers for the 10th House seat (West Maui) held by Democratic Rep. Angus McKelvey. Republican Cranston Kapoi signed out papers for the 8th House seat (Wailuku-Kahakuloa-Waihee-Waiehu-Puuohala-Waikapu), and Republican Joseph Kamaka pulled filing papers for the 5th Senate District seat (Central Maui) held by Keith-Agaran.

No candidates had returned and filed their nomination papers as of midday Thursday, according to staff with the County Clerk’s Office.