Segault outstanding recruit

Matthew Segault received the Outstanding Recruit Award during a graduation ceremony Friday for the Maui Police Department’s 79th Recruit Class.

Twenty-one recruits completed eight months of physical and academic training to receive their badges during the luncheon ceremony at the King Kamehameha Golf Club in Waikapu.

Other recruits receiving awards were Michael Meredith, Scholastic Achievement Award and Sensei Shinichi Suzuki Arrest Defense Tactics Award; Jonathan Green, Neil T. Endo Firearms Award; Kahiapo Kauhaahaa, M. Cecil “Rusty” Dickenson Award for Physical Fitness; and Emmett Kawahara, Best Notebook Award.

The other new officers are Clayton Agbisit, Adam Akau, Kamaiki Anakalea, Michael Balangitao, Tyson Baza-Triulzi, Thomas Brennan, Pedro Cacho Jr., Leighton Cox, Ruzzle Fabito, Landin Gilkey, Rodney Haia, Justin Julian, Mitchell Pombrio, Ronald Simon, Erick Tabucbuc and Luke Waters.

The recruit class was the last to graduate under the command of Police Chief Gary Yabuta, who has announced he will retire in July.