State minimun wage hike starts Monday
The statewide minimum wage will increase from $9.25 an hour to $10.10 starting Monday, the state Department of Labor and Industrial Relations announced Friday.
It’s the fourth and final increase in the minimum wage since 2015. The minimum wage rose from $7.25 to $7.75 in 2015, to $8.50 in 2016 and to $9.25 this year. Before that, the minimum wage had stayed at $7.25 from 2007 to 2015.
“The Legislature also created a new administrative process for wage law along with a new, minimum $500 penalty to act as a deterrent, and both employers and workers should be aware of the requirements under the law,” acting department Director Leonard Hoshijo said.
The payment of wages and other compensation law in Chapter 388 of the Hawaii Revised Statutes details the requirements of paying wages. Workers should be aware of the following requirements for employers:
• The rate of pay should be given at the time of hiring, along with the time and place of payment.
• Any changes to payment agreements require advance notice either in writing or in a posting at the work site.
• Paychecks are due at least twice a month.
• Paychecks should be issued within seven days after the end of the pay period.
• Full wages are due at the time of termination.
For more information about the payment of wages in Hawaii, visit the Wage Standards Division website at labor.hawaii.gov/wsd or call (808) 586-8777.