On The Campaign Trail

Political parties set for 2018 election

Political parties have been set for this year’s elections, the state Office of Elections announced.

The five political parties that have qualified to appear on the ballot are: the Constitution Party, the Democratic Party, the Green Party, the Libertarian Party and the Republican Party.

The parties may field candidates in partisan contests such as U.S. Senate or House of Representatives. Candidates not affiliated with a political party may seek nonpartisan offices, such as Maui County mayor or County Council.

Hawaii conducts a single-party primary in which voters must indicate their political preference and vote only for candidates associated with their selected political preference. The candidates who receive the most votes are nominated to represent their political party in the general election.

The primary election is Aug. 11, and the general election is Nov. 6.

The last day for candidates to file nomination papers is June 5.