Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Vac Rental | E-Edition | Home RSS

A look at Lahainaluna's No. 1 seed, from a few angles

February 2, 2014 - Robert Collias
It really couldn't have been any other way — the Lahainaluna High School girls basketball team is seeded No. 1 for the state tournament. They are 27-1 on the season, riding a 22-game winning streak, the only team that beat them (Kamehameha Kapalama) is not in the tournament, and they own wins over the Nos. 2 and 3 seeds.

Here is an email that landed in my in-box this morning:

Attached is the official bracket for the 38th Annual Hawaiian Airlines/Hawai'i High School Athletic Association Division I Girls Basketball State Championships set for Feb. 7-8 and Feb. 14-15.

As a reminder, this year's DI tournament will feature a new "Regional" format that spreads the games over two weekends and includes Neighbor Island venues the first weekend.

In first round action Friday:

At Moanalua:

5 p.m. -- Mililani vs. Radford

7 p.m. -- Maryknoll vs. Kailua

At McKinley:

5 p.m. -- King Kekaulike vs. Moanalua

7 p.m. -- Hilo vs. Leilehua

In Regional Quarterfinal action Saturday:

At Blaisdell Arena, Honolulu:

3 p.m. -- King Kekaulike-Moanalua winner vs. Punahou

5 p.m. -- Hilo-Leilehua winner vs. Roosevelt

At Kealakehe High School, Kailua, Kona:

6 p.m. -- Mililani-Radford winner vs. Konawaena

At Lahaina Civic, Lahaina:

6 p.m. -- Maryknoll-Kailua winner vs. Lahainaluna

Saturday's Regional winners will advance to the semifinals Feb. 14 at McKinley; the semifinal winners will play for the championship at 7 p.m. Feb. 15 at Blaisdell Arena.

As a reminder, unlike past years, there will be no consolation bracket games except for the third place game (5 p.m. Feb. 15 at Blaisdell Arena).

Here are each team's regular season records:


1. Konawaena (13-0) 2. Hilo (11-2)


1. Punahou (11-1) 2. Maryknoll (9-3)


1. Lahainaluna (14-0) 2. King Kekaulike (9-5)


1. Roosevelt (13-0) 2. Mililani (12-1) 3. Moanalua (10-3) 4. Kailua (9-5) 5. Leilehua (11-2) 6. Radford (8-6)

Here is a look at the bracket. And here is what coach Todd Rickard told me after they wrapped up the regular season with their 92nd MIL win in a row.

And after the MIL was denied a seed for the Division II tournament each of the last two seasons Molokai received the No. 4 seed this time.


Article Comments

No comments posted for this article.

Post a Comment

You must first login before you can comment.

*Your email address:
Remember my email address.


I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web