Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Vac Rental | E-Edition | Home RSS

Architects give out scholarships

June 11, 2008
The Maui News
WAILUKU — The American Institute of Architects, Maui Chapter, will give $3,000 scholarships to Amanda Van Scoy, who graduated from Seabury Hall last month, and Leif Emilson T. Estrada, a student at the California College of the Arts.

The chapter also named three recipients of $1,000 scholarships.

The $3,000 scholarships include matching funds from the AIA national organization for chapters that provide financial aid.

Van Scoy is headed to Kansas State University. The daughter of Rich and Annette Van Scoy was a captain of the swim team, sophomore class secretary and senior class treasurer at Seabury. She also was a volunteer with the Maui Invasive Species Committee, helping to eradicate miconia; Pacific Whale Foundation; and Haleakala National Park, helping to preserve silversword plants. As a 4-H’er, she was a delegate to the organization’s National Congress.

Estrada is a 2007 graduate of Maui High School and the son of Roland and Laura Balinbin. At his college in the Bay Area, he was a member of the First Year Honors Program (a review and critique group), Asian American Student Club and Cohort of Minority Students, and he was nominated for an All College Honors Award.

Receiving $1,000 scholarships will be:

• Cherri L.M. Marinas, daughter of Art and Terencia Marinas of Makawao. She is enrolled in the seven-year doctoral program of the University of Hawaii at Manoa School of Architecture.

• Sheryl T. Cajudoy, daughter of Eusebio and Lolita Cajudoy of Lahaina. She will attend the University of Oregon. She graduated this month from Lahainaluna High School, where she was a member of the National Honor Society and earned school honors in physics, chemistry, algebra, trigonometry/precalculus and calculus.

• Kyle M. Saiki, son of Kurtis and Annabel Saiki of Pukalani. He plans to attend UH-Manoa or the University of Oregon. A May graduate of Kamehameha Schools Maui, he was in the National Honor Society and was a three-sport athlete, including a Maui Interscholastic League wrestling champion who finished third in the state.

The scholarships will be presented at an awards luncheon in July.

Selection was based on scholastic achievement, extracurricular activities and financial need.

The Scholarship Selection Committee was headed by Marie Kimmey. Members included Calvin Higuchi, Gerald Hiyakumoto, Alvin Yoshimori and Clayton Nishikawa, the Maui Chapter president.

Article Photos

Heading to Kansas State



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web