Lunas combine for 11 titles

Bubba Jaramillo, Giovani Perez and Hercules Mataafa each improved to 4-for-4 in Maui Interscholastic League boys wrestling tournaments this season by claiming titles during Saturday’s meet, and Lahainaluna teammate Carly Jaramillo did the same in girls competition at the Lunas’ gym.

Bubba Jaramillo won the 140-pound title, Perez took first place at 160 and Mataafa was the 215 champion. Carly Jaramillo won at 140.

The Lahainaluna boys finished with six champions – John Mulholland won at 108, Gary Long at 120 and Wyatt Chism at 145.

The other boys winners were Maui High’s Mark Alexander (135) and Charles Johnston Jr. (171), Baldwin’s Laniel Salvador (125) and Danny Welds-Ebanks (189), King Kekaulike’s Curtis Palmeira (130), Kamehameha Maui’s Andrew Kahalewai (152) and Molokai’s Rusty Nakayama (285).

In girls competition, Malia Refamonte (101), Breanna Dudoit-Vasquez (130), Sheldene Akina (175) and Lalelei Mataafa (220) also won titles for Lahainaluna.

King Kekaulike’s Kyla Aruda (108) and Jenna Mauliola (113) were champions as well, along with Baldwin’s Raeana Anguay (121) and Molokai’s Rizpah Torres-Umi (125).