MIL softball: Morikawa pitches one-hitter; Lahainaluna stays unbeaten

Hope Morikawa pitched a one-hitter for the undefeated Lahainaluna High School softball team Saturday in an 11-0, five-inning victory over Kamehameha Maui in a Maui Interscholastic League game at Patsy Mink Field in Kahului.

Lithe Pokipala-Waiohu hit a home run for the Lunas (6-0), while Morikawa, Jessica Wallace, Haley Nakamura and Ceidilee Nobriga all went 2-for-3.

The Warriors fell to 2-3.

* HANA 14, ST. ANTHONY 12: At Wailuku, Isley Pu-Akima homered, and Hana rallied from a seven-run deficit to earn its first win.

Kaitlin Kim homered twice for St. Anthony, which led 7-0 after the top of the third inning. The Dragons (1-1) scored nine runs in the bottom of the third.

Hana later fell behind 11-10 before a four-run fifth.

Nahe Smith hit a two-run triple for Hana, and Shalen Hoopai had two hits.

Keani Pacheco was 3-for-4 with a triple and homer for the Trojans (1-1), who later won an international tiebreaker 1-0 that will be used if the teams finish even in the final regular-season standings. Rachel Lallo was 3-for-4 and Treyanna Freitas had two hits.

* LANAI 13, SEABURY HALL 4: At Lanai City, the Pine Lasses’ Maile Herolaga homered, and winning pitcher Kayci Kaopuiki-Galiza was 3-for-4 with a triple and scored four runs.

Noe Eskaran was 3-for-5 with a double for Lanai (1-1).

Casey Kekiwi was 2-for-4 for Seabury Hall (2-2), which won a tiebreaker 2-1.


Lahainaluna ….. 401 ….. 06-11

KS Maui ……….. 000 ……. 00-0

Hope Morikawa and Jessica Wallace. Tiana Sakumoto and Kalei Kubota. W-Morikawa. L-Sakumoto. HR-Lahainaluna: Lithe Pokipala-Waiohu. 2B-Lahainaluna: Nobriga.


St. Anthony ….. 322 ….. 221 ….. 0-12

Hana …………… 009 ….. 140 ….. x-14

Sloan Becraft, Keani Pacheco (3) and Kaitlin Kim. Jayna Hoopai and Shalen Hoopai. HR-St. Anthony: Kim 2, Pacheco. Hana: Isley Pu-Akima. 3B-St. Anthony: Pacheco. Hana: Nahe Smith. 2B-Hana: S. Hoopai, Pu-Akima.


Lanai …………….. 413 ….. 311 ….. 0-13 ….. 13 ….. 2

Seabury Hall ….. 003 ….. 010 ……. 0-4 ……. 3 ….. 3

Kayci Kaopuiki-Galiza and Megan Amby. Pili Hao-Meyer and Christie Kimura. W-Kaopuiki-Galiza. L-Hao-Meyer. HR-Lanai: Maile Herolaga. 3B-Lanai: Kaopuiki-Galiza. 2B-Lanai: Noe Eskaran.