Richmond, Ewaliko selected for HHSAA Hall of Honor

Keelan Ewaliko of Baldwin High School and Renny Richmond of Seabury Hall were among the 12 members of the Hawaii High School Athletic Association Hall of Honor’s class of 2013, the association announced late Sunday.

Ewaliko is a three-time Maui Interscholastic League Offensive Player of the Year in football and five-time state gold medalist in track and field. He has also received MIL All-Star recognition in soccer. Ewaliko has accepted a football scholarship at the University of Hawaii.

Richmond has won six state swimming championships – tied for the most in MIL history for any boys athlete – and holds the state-meet record in the 100-yard butterfly. The U.S. Olympic trials qualifier will compete for the University of Arizona.

The Hall of Honor selections are made by a 14-member committee of current and former sports reporters, athletic directors and coaches from around the state after two days of meetings. According to the HHSAA, recognition “is based mainly on athletic achievement but character, sportsmanship, academic record and community service also are taken into consideration.”

Each inductee will also receive a $2,000 scholarship courtesy of Enterprise Rent-A-Car.

Also chosen were Raion Black of Christian Academy (track and field), Michael Fisher of Hawaii Baptist (volleyball), Kawe Johnson of Kahuku (football, basketball, track and field), Shaun Kagawa of Kamehameha Hawaii (football, basketball, tennis), Carly Kan of Punahou (volleyball, track and field), Alex Masaquel of Iolani (basketball, softball), Dane Pestano of Kamehamehama Kapalama (wrestling, judo), Bree Rapoza of Kamehameha (wrestling, judo), Isaac Savaiinaea of Punahou (football, track and field) and Aofaga Wily of Kahuku (football).

Formal induction is scheduled for June 9 at the Sheraton Waikiki.