Buzianis, Bicakci each take two titles

Micah Buzianis won every heat in both the pro and 40-49 divisions during Saturday’s Da Kine Classic, the season-opening event of the Maui Race Series windsurfing competition, and Deniz Bicakci also took two titles at Kanaha Beach Park in Kahului.

Bicakci swept all four heats in the expert class in winds of 15-25 mph, and finished first in the junior division, winning three heats.

Buzianis and Bicakci were both champions in a pair of divisions at last year’s Neil Pryde State Championship.

Dan Ellis won all four men’s 19-39 heats Saturday, and the other division champions were Ben Massenburg (semipro), Tamara Bockius (women’s open), Mike Yasak (men’s 50-59) and Todd MacFarlane (men’s 60 and over).

The series’ next event is the Carbon Art Challenge, scheduled for June 15.