Mauians share Pro-Pro lead

A pair of Maui teams shared a one-shot lead Sunday after the first round of the Aloha PGA Kaanapali Pro-Pro Championship at the Royal Kaanapali Course.

Kirk Nelson of Kihei and Justin Newsome of Lahaina carded a 4-under-par 67, as did Wai-luku’s Kyle Hayashi and Kihei’s David Braxton, last year’s runners-up.

Nelson and Braxton are Elleair professionals, while Hayashi and Newsome are unattached.

Nelson is a former Pro-Pro champion – he teamed with Brian Sasada for the 2009 title.

T.J. Figueroa of Kahului and Travis Joerger of Oahu were at 68, along with the Big Island team of Juan Rodriguez and Mark Morrison. Ben Hongo and Doug Bohn of Lahaina were 2 under.

Eight of the field’s 35 teams were under par.

The two-time defending champions, Larry Stubblefield and Andrew Feldmann, opened with a 73 that left them in a tie for 14th place.

The event concludes today.