Na Koa extend winning streak to seven games

Matt Walker pitched six scoreless innings, Kalaika Kahoohalahala and Jose Chema Sanchez each had had three hits and Na Koa Ikaika Maui completed a sweep of a six-game series against the Hawaii Stars at Wong Stadium in Hilo with a 6-3 victory on Sunday.

Na Koa, who have won seven straight games overall, will begin another six-game series against the Stars on Tuesday at Maehara Stadium in Wailuku.

Walker (1-0) allowed six hits, striking out three batters and walking none.

Kahoohalahala, a Maui High School graduate, doubled in the seventh inning and had singled home a run in the eighth, giving him a team-high 12 RBIs this season, which rank third in the Pacific Association.

Ronnie Loefler (0-2) took the loss.

The Stars were held scoreless until the ninth, when Glenn Walker’s two-out base hit drove in two runs and Dustin Smith followed with an RBI single.

Maui ……… 000 …… 200 …… 031-6 …… 1 …… 2

Hawaii …… 000 …… 000 …… 003-3 …… 9 …… 2

Matt Walker, Josh Larson (7), Byron Minnich (9) and Ray Serrano; Ronnie Loefler, Brian Escanio (5), Keith DeMorgandie (7), Devon Ramirez (7), Mike Jackson (9) and Tyler Krobetzky. W-Walker, 1-0. L-Loefler, 0-2. 2B-Maui: Kalaika Kahoohalahala (4); Hawaii: Glenn Walker (3), Katsuaki Furuki (3).