Walsh, Barger win heats during first day of Reef Hawaiian Pro

Haiku’s Ian Walsh and Kai Barger won their round-of-128 heats Thursday during the first day of the Reef Hawaiian Pro at Oahu’s North Shore.

Paia’s Ian Gentil finished second in his heat to also advance to the round of 96.

Lahaina’s Kevin Sullivan, Hai-ku’s Tanner Hendrickson, Hana’s Hank Gaskell and Hana’s Olamana Eleogram failed to advance.

Walsh posted a two-wave score of 13.64, California’s Cory Arrambide was second with a 13.20, Australia’s Ryan Callinan scored a 13.03 and Eleogram was last with an 11.93.

Barger had a 12.84, Ian Gouveia of Brazil finished second with a 12.33, California’s Chris Ward scored an 11.66 and Gaskell posted a 9.30.

Gentil scored a 14.70 to finish behind France’s Adrien Toyon.

Hendrickson finished third in his heat with a 10.44, just two-hundredths of a point behind Oahu’s Sean Moody, who placed second.

Sullivan finished last (9.43) in his heat, which was won by Oahu’s Sunny Garcia.

Kuau’s Billy Kemper was seeded directly into the round of 96, while Lahaina’s Granger Larsen and Dusty Payne will start in the round of 64.

The Reef Hawaiian Pro is the first event of the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing.