Balagso, Mauliola earn Hawaii Officials Tournament titles

Lahainaluna High School’s Christian Balagso and King Kekaulike’s Jenna Mauliola each claimed their second wrestling tournament titles in eight days on Saturday, earning first-place finishes in the Hawaii Officials Tournament at the Leilehua gym in Wahiawa, Oahu.

Balagso won the boys 120-pound title, and was one of eight Lahainaluna boys to place. Bubba Jaramillo (152), Conrad Bolor (220) and Connor Mowat (285) were runners-up, Robert Campos was third at 145, Thomas Rosen St. John was fourth at 170, Justin Inovejas was fifth at 152 and Wyatt Chism was sixth at 138.

Mauliola, who like Balagso was a Garner Ivey Invitational champion last weekend at War Memorial Gym in Wailuku, took the girls 113 title Saturday. Teammate Kyla Aruda was third at 105.

The Lunas’ Breanna Dudoit-Vasquez was third at 135, Iverly Navarro was fourth at 97 and Alexis Encinas (105) and Anika Pascual (109) were both fifth-place finishers.

King Kekaulike’s Josten Saribay was the boys 120 runner-up, and Thomas Stevenson of Baldwin was third at 132.