Hu sets MIL mark in 100 breaststroke

Jonah Hu of Baldwin High School set a Maui Interscholastic League record in the boys 100-yard breaststroke, and missed the state-meet mark by one hundredth of a second, during Saturday’s meet at Kihei Aquatic Center.

Hu, a senior, finished in 55.92 seconds. He also won the 200 freestyle in 1:54.27, and was part of the first-place 400 freestyle relay team, along with Maverick Donohue, Justin Acain and Troy Kojenlang – they finished in 3:27.45.

Donohue won the 100 butterfly in 56.96, and teamed with Kojenlang, Acain and Christian Saito to win the 200 medley relay in 1:44.43.

The Bears’ Jonathan You won the diving competition with a score of 346.30.

Maui Prep’s Sky Hirsch won the 50 freestyle (21.68) and 500 freestyle (4:57.58).

Rhett Wiseman of Lahainaluna won the 100 backstroke in 57.76, and joined Nalu Laurel, Lucas Bell and Kainoa Altier in winning the 200 freestyle relay in 1:39.37. Seabury Hall’s Dylan Kresge won the 200 individual medley in 2:11.15, and Spencer Shiraishi of Kamehameha Maui won the 100 freestyle in 49.95.

Maya Sinclair of Baldwin won the girls 50 freestyle in 25.82, and the 100 butterfly in 1:03.26. Sinclair, Tina Medeiros, Dana Leonhard and Kiri Allen won the 400 freestyle relay in 4:09.82. Leonhard won the 100 freestyle in 57.28, and swam on the 200 medley relay team, along with Medeiros, Allen and Alea Weber, that won in 2:03.99.

Lahainaluna’s Sydney Wagner won a pair of races – the 500 freestyle (5:45.05) and 100 breaststroke (1:14.11). Kamehameha’s Erin Lim won the 200 freestyle in 2:14.60, and teamed with Quinn Shiraishi, Nikki McGuire and Mia Czerwinski to win the 200 freestyle relay in 1:50.75. Seabury Hall’s Cloe Cadiz won the diving event with a score of 360.65, and Sabrina Altman won the 200 individual medley in 2:20.80. Maui Prep’s Danielle Jefferies was the 100 backstroke winner, in 1:02.93.