Farmers move into semifinals

The Molokai High School girls basketball team moved into the semifinals of the Hawaiian Airlines Division II State Championship by rallying from a fourth-quarter deficit to beat Kapaa 41-35 on Thursday at the Kaimuki gym on Oahu.

The fourth-seeded Farmers (14-1) will play top-seeded Honokaa today for a berth in Saturday’s title game.

Molokai trailed 19-16 entering the fourth quarter, after each team scored just two points in the third.

“All year, defense has been our motto, and defense kept us in the game,” said Farmers coach Lee DeRouin.

Tiara English scored 14 points for Molokai, and Hepuakea Falealii added 10. Taylor Keliihoomalu had 15 rebounds. Kelcyn Balbas had nine rebounds, and fellow reserve Rebecka Adolpho had eight.

“The bench came up big for us,” DeRouin said.

Molokai scored 21 of the first 28 points of the fourth quarter – English’s jump shot with 1 minute, 38 seconds left made the score 37-26.

The Farmers were 25-of-44 from the foul line, including 15-of-22 in the fourth quarter.

“They took a lot of hard fouls, a lot of hard hits, but they were able to get to the line and make their shots,” said DeRouin, who also noted the backing his team received from the crowd.

“We got an outpouring of support from our Molokai contingency, family and friends, and I have to thank them,” DeRouin said. “It felt like a home game.”

The Maui Interscholastic League had lost its previous seven games in the D-II tournament – five of those losses were for the Farmers, including two last year.

Kaylee Silva and Siokapesi Paua each scored six points for the Warriors (8-3). Silva also had 12 rebounds.

KAPAA (35)

Shai-Anne Abigania 4, Uilani McCabe 2, Uinise Paua 0, Ariel Cummings 2, Tori Daligcon?Pomaikai 4, Tayzia Goodwin 0, Kaylee Silva 6, Maile Tuttle 4, Kristen Yam 0, Siokapesi Paua 6, Annie Ballesteros 2, Paea Taefa 5, Sierra Shigematsu 0.


Taylor Keliihoomalu 3, Tiara English 14, Hepuakea Falealii 10, Ilana Meyer 7, Lehiwa Pedro 0, Precious Rawlins 0, Kristine Aquino 0, Rebecka Adolpho 4, Edel Mae Alvarez 0, Kelcyn Balbas 3.