Hawaiian Style claims Haili title

A team composed entirely of former Maui Interscholastic League players claimed the women’s open championship at this weekend’s 57th annual Haili Tournament on the Big Island.

Hawaiian Style secured the title with a 25-22 win over the Sawaiians from Oahu in a one-set championship match Saturday, after both teams had beaten each other once previously in the double-elimination tournament.

The Hawaiian Style roster comprised Brittany Awai, Dreanne Shaw, Yacine Meyer, Kela Lau Hee, Kalia Yasak, Kaimi Rocha, Stephanie Dunn, Sayble Bissen and Cassie Friel.