Competition concludes at Makawao Rodeo

FIRST PHOTO: Makawao Rodeo bull-riding champion Matthew Gouveia hangs on during a run Sunday at Oskie Rice Arena – he was one of 19 competitors to earn an event title or all-around honors as the 59th edition of the event concluded. Bronson Branco was named the all-around cowboy, and Caysie Medeiros the all-around cowgirl. Branco also won the Benji Rollins Saddle for most paychecks earned – he took first place in calf roping, and was on four winning teams, joining Stoney Joseph in dally team roping; Christina Martin in mixed dally team roping; Kalai Nobriga in double mugging; and Nobriga and Rory Souza in wild cow milking. Eric Diego was the winner in po’o wai u; Lily Bolton was the wahine steer undecorating champion; Mia Nakachi took first place in wahine barrel racing; Peter Baldwin and Jess McGuiness won century dally team roping; Kanoa Awai-Dickson took the steer wrestling title; Leahi Poouahi was the wahine breakaway winner; R.J. Masada teamed with Bryce Copperfield to win the rawhide race; Diana Lopes was the junior barrel racing champ; Piimauna Kekiwi won sheep riding; and Brit Bradford won keiki barrel racing.

SECOND PHOTO: Bradford navigates around a barrel.

THIRD PHOTO: Branco poses with his trophy saddle.

FOURTH PHOTO: Nakachi runs through a turn.

FIFTH PHOTO: Poouahi lassos a calf.