Duke part of 2018 Maui field, Chaminade not included in eight-team bracket

Chaminade will not be part of the field for the 2018 edition of the Maui Jim Maui Invitational, tournament officials said Wednesday, though the school will still be the tournament host, and the Silverswords will play in Mainland games affiliated with the event.
The field in 2018 will comprise Duke, Arizona, Gonzaga, Illinois, San Diego State, Iowa State, Xavier and Auburn.
Chaminade will be part of the Maui championship bracket in odd-numbered years, including 2017. The other seven teams for the 2019 tournament have not been named.
Chaminade has played in the event every year — the inaugural tournament was in 1984 — and has a 7-84 record, with its last win coming in 2012 against Texas.
The tournament introduced “regional” games in 2011 — four teams not coming to Lahaina play Maui-bound teams, and then in a four-team tournament of their own.
Four of the teams coming to Maui in 2018 have claimed the title before — Duke has won in all five of its trips, most recently in 2011, Arizona owns a pair of championships and Gonzaga and Illinois have each won once.
Chaminade will be joined in this year’s event, which begins Nov. 21 at the Lahaina Civic Center, by North Carolina, Oregon, Connecticut, Wisconsin, Georgetown, Oklahoma State and Tennessee.
The field for 2017, which was announced last year, comprises Chaminade, Michigan, California, Louisiana State, Virginia Commonwealth, Marquette, Notre Dame and Wichita State.