Lahainaluna, Seabury fall in state semifinals

Reece Pascua of Lahainaluna High School goes up for a layup in front of Punahou’s Kaulana Makaula during the Lunas’ 54-47 loss Thursday. GLEN PASCUAL photo

The Maui News

Both of the Maui Interscholastic League teams remaining in the Snapple Boys Basketball State Championships lost in the semifinal round Thursday on Oahu.

In Division I, third-seeded Lahainaluna suffered its first defeat of the season, falling 54-47 to No. 2 Punahou at McKinley.

Second-seeded Seabury Hall lost 56-46 to No. 3 Kalani in overtime in a Division II game at the Falcons’ gym.

In the D-I game, the Buffanblu outscored the Lunas 15-8 in the final quarter. Cole Mausolf scored the first four points of a 6-0 run to start the period, and Punahou never led by less than five the rest of the way.

Carver Locke had 16 points and eight rebounds for Lahainaluna (15-1), which will play for third place today against Iolani, last year’s champion, at the Stan Sheriff Center. Jeremi Santos added 15 points, going 3-for-4 from 3-point range, and had three steals.

Zayne Chong made three of his five 3-point attempts and scored 21 points for the Buffanblu (13-3), who rallied from a 28-24 halftime deficit. Chris Kobayashi had 13 points, and Mausolf added 11. Duke Clemens had eight rebounds.

Lahainaluna was making its first semifinal appearance at the state’s top-level tournament since 1957.

Kalani advanced to the D-II final by outscoring Seabury 13-3 in the extra period.

Peter Konohia had 13 points and nine rebounds for the Spartans (13-2), who will face Honokaa in the third-place game. Cameron Hanisch and Christian Jenkins each scored 11 points for Seabury, last year’s state runner-up.

Trey Sumida was 4-for-4 on 3-pointers on the way to 17 points for the Falcons (9-6) — he scored the first five points of a 7-0 run to open the extra period. Micah Kawano had 10 points, six in OT.

Kalani was 6-for-12 from 3-point range overall.



Reece Pascua 2, Iverson Turno 2, Tavake Faleta 7, Jeremi Santos 15, Carver Locke 16, Cley Josef Palma 3, Siale Hafoka 2, Aukai Kama 0.


Hunter Hosoda 0, Maninoa Tufono 0, Chris Kobayashi 13, Kaulana Makaula 5, Duke Clemens 4, Cole Mausolf 11, Zayne Chong 21, Cole Arceneaux 0, Antonio Cortez Feria 0, Andrew Martinson 0, David Whittaker 0, Les Falatea 0.

Lahainaluna 11 17 11 8–47

Punahou 17 7 15 15–54



Jaemi Harris 8, Max Pepe 0, Ryan Jacobi 9, Micah Kawano 10, Toby Mitchell 4, Jared Ki 0, Logan Matsuoka 0, Evan Weng 0, Kapaa Nishimura 8, Matt Souza 0, Trey Sumida 17, Trey Joslin 0, Akira Karasawa 0, Christian Salas 0.


Cameron Hanisch 11, Christian Jenkins 11, Isaiah Payne 5, Chandler Dobson 3, Peter Konohia 13, Noah Payne 1, Makoa da Silva 2, Carl Molinaro 0, Gabriel Medallada 0, Jaxon Naiditch 0, Conner Jenkins 0.

Kalani 12 9 12 10 13–56

Seabury Hall 8 6 16 13 3–46


Snapple Boys Basketball State Championships


Thursday’s Results


At Radford

Kalaheo 72, Waiakea 70

Leilehua 71, Konawaena 49


At McKinley

Kahuku 51, Iolani 48, OT

Punahou 54, Lahainaluna 47

Today’s Games

At Stan Sheriff Center

Fifth-place game: Kalaheo vs. Leilehua, 9 a.m.

Third-place game: Iolani vs. Lahainaluna, 1 p.m.

Championship game: Kahuku vs. Punahou, 7 p.m. (OC16)


Thursday’s Results


At St. Francis

Farrington 69, Kauai 68

Le Jardin 44, Hawaii Prep 40


At Kalani

Saint Francis 78, Honokaa 50

Kalani 56, Seabury Hall 46, OT

Today’s Games

At Stan Sheriff Center

Fifth-place game: Farrington vs. Le Jardin, 11 a.m.

Third-place game: Honokaa vs. Seabury Hall, 3 p.m.

Championship game: Saint Francis vs. Kalani, 5 p.m. (OC16)