Baker, Girardin, Katchadourian win Aloha Classic titles

Kai Katchadourian heads to the Aloha Classic masters title Monday at Hookipa Beach Park. International Windsurfing Tour / SI CROWTHER photos

The Maui News

Damien Girardin won the Aloha Classic amateur title Monday at Hookipa Beach Park in Kuau, and Greg Aguera earned a pair of top-three finishes in the International Windsurfing Tour event.

Girardin posted a score of 13.10 in the amateur final, and Yves Masnada finished second, 0.86 points behind. Aguera (10.73) took third place — he was also the grand master runner-up — and Simeon Glasson (9.67) was fourth.

Kai Katchadourian claimed the masters championship, finishing a run of first-place finishes in all three of his heats. In the final, his 12.36 edged Pascal Hardy by a tenth of a point. Sean Aiken finished third with a 10.60, and Michi Schweiger was fourth with an 8.37.

Colin Baker won the grand master final with an 11.74. Aguera (11.13) was followed by Rob Funk (10.54) and Mike Colee (4.34).

Sarah Hauser rides a wave during her win in a women’s pro third-round heat.

In the pro divisions, women’s se­mifinal matchups were set and the list of contenders for the men’s title was reduced to 16.

Fiona Wylde won her women’s third-round heat with a 15.83, and Sarah Hauser posted a 15.17 in her heat. They will be in the first semifinal with Shawna Cropas and Maria Andres. The second semifinal has Tatiana Howard, Vickey Abbot, Ingrid Larouche and Sato Motoko.

Levi Siver (16.80) and Bernd Roediger (16.66) recorded the top men’s scores in claiming fourth-round berths.