Farrell named tournament’s MVP

Matt Farrell had 59 points and 15 assists in three Maui Invitational games. The Maui News / MATTHEW THAYER photo

For The Maui News

Wichita State’s fans were in a tizzy. The Shockers, up by three and with the ball in the Maui Jim Maui Invitational final Wednesday at the Lahaina Civic Center, were less than a minute away from the title.

That’s when Matt Farrell helped turn things around for Notre Dame, and the result was a 67-66 win.

The senior guard delivered a steal and later assisted on a Bonzie Colson layup that got the Fighting Irish, No. 13 in The Associated Press rankings, within 66-65. Martinas Gebens provided the final points seconds later with two free throws.

“You just never give up,” said Farrell, who earned the tournament’s MVP award.

Farrell totaled 59 points and 15 assists in three games. He scored 15 points against the sixth-ranked Shockers.

When asked about his teammate’s award, Colson — an all-tournament selection — was effusive.

“It’s my brother, man. He deserves it,” Colson said. “He played his heart out. It’s great for him. He works hard every day, and he came out strong, just doing his thing. We need him to continue to do that, and he will. With our offense and how we play, it’s easy for him when he can do his thing and create for others.”

Colson scored 25 points Wednesday, and totaled 60 in the tournament.

“It’s really easy for me when I’m playing with guys like Bonzie on the floor,” Farrell said. “I think it helps that both our dads were coaches.”

Notre Dame coach Mike Brey also sees similarities in their background, starting with their hometowns. Farrell is from Bridgewater, N.J., and Colson in New Bedford, Mass.

“They’ve got that edge. I call it that I-95 edge,” Brey said. “Guys that grow up on that I-95 corridor, a Jersey guy or Boston guy, there’s something about those guys that have a little edge to them.”

Maui Invitational MVPs

2017–Matt Farrell, Notre Dame

2016–Joel Berry II, North Carolina

2015–Frank Mason III and Wayne Sel­den Jr., Kansas

2014–Stanley Johnson, Arizona

2013–C.J. Fair, Syracuse

2012–Brandon Paul, Illinois

2011–Ryan Kelly, Duke

2010–Kemba Walker, Connecticut

2009–Matt Bouldin and Steven Gray, Gonzaga

2008–Ty Lawson, North Carolina

2007–Kyle Singler, Duke

2006–Darren Collison, UCLA

2005–Adam Morrison, Gonzaga

2004–Raymond Felton, North Carolina

2003–Keith Waleskowski, Dayton

2002–Bracey Wright, Indiana

2001–Mike Dunleavy, Duke

2000–Michael Wright, Arizona

1999–Joseph Forte, North Carolina

1998–Jason Hart, Syracuse

1997–Steve Wojciechowski, Duke

1996–Raef LaFrentz, Kansas

1995–Kerry Kittles, Villanova

1994–Mario Bennett, Arizona St.

1993–Travis Ford, Kentucky

1992–Bobby Hurley, Duke, and Anfernee Hardaway, Memphis St.

1991–George Gilmore, Chaminade

1990–Billy Owens, Syracuse

1989–Doug Smith, Missouri

1988–Glenn Rice, Michigan

1987–Iowa team

1986–Will Perdue, Vanderbilt

1985–Dell Curry, Virginia Tech

1984–Patrick Langlois, Chaminade

2017 All-tournament team

Landry Shamet, Wichita State; Shaquille Morris, Wichita State; Rashard Kelly, Wichita State; Andrew Rowsey, Marquette; Tremont Waters, LSU; Bonzie Colson, Notre Dame.