Baldwin takes Officials girls title

Led by three individual champions, Baldwin High School won the girls team title at the Hawaii Wrestling Officials Association Scholarship Tournament on Saturday at the Leilehua gym in Wahiawa, Oahu.

The Bears’ Tianna Fernandez took first place at 107 pounds, Waipuilani Estrella Beauchamp won at 127 and Siera Vida was the champion at 184. All three won each of their three matches by pin.

Fernandez pinned Roosevelt’s Haylee Fujioka in the third period of their title match, Estrella Beauchamp recorded a second-period pin of Leilehua’s Mariah Spix and Vida pinned Michelle Tanuvasa of Pearl City in the second period as well.

Baldwin’s Jahnea Miguel was the runner-up at 138 — the state champion at 127 last season had recorded back-to-back first-period pins before a 5-0 loss to Kamehameha Kapalama’s Paige Res­picio in the final. The Bears had four other top-six competitors, and totaled 166.5 points. Moanalua was second with 136, followed by Leilehua (125) and Lahainaluna (117.5).

The Lunas had three individual champions — Ira Navarro (102), Nanea Estrella (122) and Taylor Pelegrino Hayase (145). Estrella, the state champion at 117 last season, had two pins — the second against Pearl City’s Makana Cooper in the final — and a technical fall. Pelegrino Hayase won her first two matches by pin before Kaleinani Ma­kuaole of Waianae was disqualified in the final.

Lahainaluna had two boys champions — Ikua Tihada at 113 and Kainalu Estrella at 132.

Baldwin’s Kahilihiwa Joy pinned all five of his opponents en route to the 120 title — Maui High’s Jude Michael Talana was the runner-up. Molo­kai’s Caele Manley was the champion at 152.

Baldwin’s Colby Ravida finished second at 106.

Lahainaluna finished sixth in the team standings with 120 points, one spot ahead of Baldwin (109). Leilehua won with 186.5.

The other Baldwin wrestlers in the girls top six were Shayna Kamaka (third at 168), Alysha Reinhardt (fourth at 132), Celine Gomes (fourth at 225) and Tyeisha Takamori (sixth at 145).

Lahainaluna’s Kauanoe Ke­ahi, the reigning state champion at 138, was third in the division Saturday and teammate Fay­anne Rosario beat King Ke­kaulike’s Vegoda Angel in the 155 fifth-place match. King Kekaulike’s Jaden Rivera was fifth at 145.

In the boys division, Baldwin’s Billy Treu was fourth at 138, Lanai’s Jared Sugiyama was fifth and Lahainaluna’s Kawehi Gillcoat was sixth.

The Maui Interscholastic League had five other fourth-place boys finishers — Lahai­naluna’s Ty Bates (182) and Reeno Pascual (170), Molo­kai’s Jayse Lalim Rillon (106) and Diego DePonte (160) and Lanai’s Samuel Dunwell (152).

Baldwin’s Benjamin Toka­nang was fifth at 220, and Maui High’s Chance Rodrigues was sixth at 285.