Calibuso-Kwee earns HSJGA POY honors

The Maui News

Lana Calibuso-Kwee of Wailuku earned her second straight Hawaii State Junior Golf Association Player of the Year honor for the girls 13-14 division on Wednesday.

Calibuso-Kwee, who last weekend won the season-ending Michelle Wie HSJGA Tournament of Champions at the Wailea Emerald Course, also won Junior Tour Series events at Kapalua and Kahili earlier this year. In addition, she had second-place finishes at the JTS event at Mauna Lani, the King Auto Group State Junior Championship at The Club at Hokulia, the IMG Academy Junior World Golf Championships at Wailua, the Oahu Junior Classic at Turtle Bay and the HSJGA Mixed Team Championship at Poipu Bay with Jordan Terada.

All of the other HSJGA Player of the Year winners were from Oahu: Kate Nakaoka (girls 7-10), Bryce Toledo-Lue (boys 7-10), Teal Matsueda (girls 11-12), Joshua Chung (boys 11-12), Jake Sequin (boys 13-14), Kamie Hamada (girls 15-18) and Davis Lee (boys 15-18).