Five MIL wrestlers seeded No. 1 for state meet

The Maui News

The Maui Interscholastic League emerged with five top seeds, four of them girls, for the Texaco Wrestling State Championships set for Wednesday and Thursday at the Blaisdell Arena in Honolulu.

Lahainaluna High School’s girls team, the winner of two of the last three state team crowns, drew three top seeds: Ira Navarro, the state champion last year at 97 pounds, is seeded No. 1 at 102; Sami Saribay is the top seed at 107; and Nanea Estrella, who won last year at 117, is the No. 1 seed at 122.

Baldwin’s Waipuilani Estrella-Beauchamp is the No. 1 seed at 127.

MIL girls were also awarded five No. 2 seeds: Baldwin’s Jahnea Miguel at 145, Siera Vida at 184 and Celine Gomes at 225; Molokai’s Daisha Kahoalii-Kalilikane at 138; and Lahainaluna’s Fayannie Rosario at 155. Miguel won the state title at 127 last year.

Amongst MIL boys, Lahainaluna’s Kainalu Estrella is the lone top seed, at 132.

MIL boys drew seven No. 2 seeds: Baldwin’s Coby Ravida at 106; Lahainaluna’s Kanoa Lanoza at 120, Kawehi Gillcoat at 138 and Ty Bates at 182; Molokai’s Caele Manley at 152; and Maui High’s Jonathan Aunese at 195 and Chance Rodrigues at 285.