Shell Va‘a takes back crown, claims 11th Molokai Hoe title

The Maui News

Shell Va’a won the Molokai Hoe on Sunday, returning to the top spot for an 11th time after being dethroned last year.

The crew from Tahiti completed the 41-mile canoe paddling race across the Kaiwi Channel from Hale O Lono on the Friendly Isle to Waikiki in a time of 4 hours, 35 minutes, 16 seconds, well ahead of runner-up Red Bull Wa’a — the Big Island-based crew, which won last year to hand Shell Va’a just its second loss in 12 years, crossed in 4:44:21.

Oahu’s Outrigger Canoe Club (4:44:55) placed third. The top Maui crew to finish was the Maui Jim/Andaz Wailea team in 5:08:01, good for 10th place overall.

Maui’s Hawaiian Canoe Club’s masters 60-and-over crew took top honors in its division, finishing in 5:52:30.

Other division winners were Outrigger’s juniors (5:04:05), Mihere Va’a (5:06:46) in masters 40 and over, Puna (5:29:19) in masters 50 and over, Lanikai (5:27:40) in masters 55 and over, California Gold (6:10:16) in masters 65 and over and Outrigger (5:47:39) in koa.