Cubs’ Bryant, Lester, Hendricks, Maddon up for awards

NEW YORK (AP) — Fresh off winning the World Series, the Chicago Cubs could soon be hoisting more hardware.

Kris Bryant is among the top three vote-getters for the National League MVP award, with manager Joe Maddon and pitchers Jon Lester and Kyle Hendricks in contention for other honors.

The Baseball Writers’ Association of America announced the finalists Monday. Voting was completed before the postseason, and the awards are to be presented next week on the MLB Network.

Bryant, the NL Rookie of the Year in 2015, is up against the Washington Nationals’ Daniel Murphy and Los Angeles Dodgers rookie Corey Seager for NL MVP.

The finalists for the American League MVP are Jose Altuve of the Houston Astros, 2014 winner Mike Trout of the Los Angeles Angels and Mookie Betts of the Boston Red Sox.

The MVPs are to be announced Nov. 17, one day after the Cy Young Awards are presented.

The AL Cy Young will go to Corey Kluber of the pennant-winning Cleveland Indians, Boston’s Rick Porcello or the Detroit Tigers’ Justin Verlander. In the NL, the finalists are Lester, Hendricks and Washington’s Max Scherzer.

Detroit’s Michael Fulmer, the New York Yankees’ Gary Sanchez and Cleveland’s Tyler Naquin are finalists for AL Rookie of the Year. Seager, teammate Kenta Maeda and Washington’s Trea Turner are the NL contenders.

The award presentation for the top rookies is scheduled for Monday.

Maddon, the Nationals’ Dusty Baker and Dave Roberts of the Dodgers are up for NL Manager of the Year. The Indians’ Terry Francona, the Rangers’ Jeff Banister and the Baltimore Orioles’ Buck Showalter are the AL candidates.

Managerial honors are set for Nov. 15.