Kua, Rego win Kaanapali Pro-Pro

T.J. Kua and Todd Rego of Oahu won the Kaanapali Classic Pro-Pro Championship by one shot on Sunday, denying former Seabury Hall teammates Alex Chiarella and Alex Omer their second straight win in the Aloha Section PGA better-ball event.

Kua and Rego shot 8-under-par 63 for the second straight day for a 16-under total of 126.

Chiarella and Omer, who were tied for the lead with Kua and Rego after the first round, had their only bogey of the tournament on the 14th hole in a round of 64.

Omer and Chiarella each had birdie putts on the 18th hole, but Omer’s eight-footer lipped out and Chiarella could not get his 15-footer to fall.

Makena Golf & Beach Club teammates Eric Dugas and Elliot Gouveia shot 66 to finish at 130 and tie for third with Corey Kozuma and Ryan Nagata.