MIL football schedule released

The Maui News – The Maui Interscholastic League football schedule released to The Maui News on Tuesday features a pair of Interscholastic League of Honolulu teams facing MIL teams in nonconference play.

Defending Division I league champion Baldwin High School will play defending Open Division state champion Saint Louis on Aug. 12 at Aloha Stadium, while Kamehameha Kapalama will play defending Division II state champion Lahainaluna at Sue Cooley Stadium on the same day.

The season will start on Aug. 4 with Kalaheo playing Kamehameha Maui at Kanaiuapuni Stadium. Maui High will host Kapaa at War Memorial Stadium on Aug. 5, the same day that the Lunas will travel to play Pearl City.

The Bears will host California power Mission Viejo on Aug. 19 at War Memorial.

MIL play begins Thursday, Aug. 17, when King Kekaulike visits Lahainaluna. Na Alii will play all of their home games at War Memorial Stadium this season because of artificial turf being installed at King Kekaulike Stadium.

*****

2017 MIL Football Schedule

Nonconference

Friday, Aug. 4

Kalaheo at Kamehameha Maui, 6 p.m.

Saturday, Aug. 5

Maui High vs. Kapaa at War Memorial Stadium, TBA

Lahainaluna at Pearl City, TBA

Saturday, Aug. 12

Kamehameha Kapalama at Lahainaluna, 3 p.m.

Baldwin vs. Saint Louis at Aloha Stadium, 6 p.m.

Maui High vs. Damien on Oahu, TBA

Saturday, Aug. 19

Baldwin vs. Mission Viejo (Calif.) at War Memorial Stadium, 6 p.m.

Friday, Aug. 25

Valley Center at Kamehameha Maui, 6 p.m.

*****

2017 MAUI INTERSCHOLASTIC LEAGUE REGULAR-SEASON SCHEDULE

First Round

Thursday, Aug. 17

King Kekaulike at Lahainaluna, 7 p.m.

Friday, Aug. 18

Maui High at Kamehameha Maui, 7 p.m.

Friday, Aug. 25

Maui High vs. Lahainaluna at War Memorial Stadium, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Aug. 26

Baldwin vs. King Kekaulike at War Memorial Stadium, 7 p.m.

Friday, Sept. 1

Baldwin vs. Lahainaluna at War Memorial Stadium, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 2

King Kekaulike vs. Kamehameha Maui at War Memorial Stadium, 7 p.m.

Friday, Sept. 8

Baldwin vs. Kamehameha Maui at War Memorial Stadium, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 9

King Kekaulike vs. Maui High at War Memorial Stadium, 7 p.m.

Friday, Sept. 15

Lahainaluna at Kamehameha Maui, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 16

Maui High vs. Baldwin at War Memorial Stadium, 7 p.m.

Second Round

Friday, Sept. 22

Baldwin vs. King Kekaulike at War Memorial Stadium, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 23

Maui High at Lahainaluna, 7 p.m.

Friday, Sept. 29

King Kekaulike vs. Lahainaluna at War Memorial Stadium, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 30

Maui High vs. Kamehameha Maui at War Memorial Stadium, 7 p.m.

Friday, Oct. 6

Baldwin at Lahainaluna, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 7

King Kekaulike at Kamehameha Maui, 7 p.m.

Friday, Oct. 13

Maui High vs. King Kekaulike at War Memorial Stadium, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 14

Baldwin at Kamehameha Maui, 7 p.m.

Friday, Oct. 20

Baldwin vs. Maui High at War Memorial Stadium, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 21

Kamehameha Maui at Lahainaluna, 7 p.m.

Friday, Oct. 27

Division I championship playoff, if necessary, at War Memorial Stadium

Saturday, Oct. 28

Division II championship playoff, if necessary, at War Memorial Stadium

Note: Junior varsity games scheduled for 4:30 p.m., prior to varsity games

COMMENTS