Lunas claim first-round title with win over Warriors

The Lahainaluna High School football team claimed the Maui Interscholastic League Division I first-round championship Friday with a 39-19 win over Kamehameha Maui at Kanaiaupuni Stadium in Pukalani.

Josh Tihada ran for two touchdowns for the Lunas (4-0), last year’s state champions, and Etuati Storer threw and ran for a score.

Kainoa Sanchez threw three touchdown passes for the Warriors (2-2) — a 4-yarder and 69-yarder to Nathan Facuri, and an 80-yarder to Tyerell Baldonado-Kaleiopu.