Three Maui students receive scholarships

Three Maui students are recipients of Hawaii Government Employees Association 2015-16 Charles R. Kendall and Russell K. Okata Scholarships.

The recipients of $1,500 scholarships and the schools they are or will be attending are:

* Kaylee Decambra, University of Hawaii at Hilo.

* Celina Hayashi, University of Hawaii at Manoa, John A. Burns School of Medicine.

* Ja’ie Victorine-Dyment, University of Hawaii Maui College.

A total of $63,500 was awarded to 37 HGEA members or dependents who are attending or plan to attend a college, university, vocational or trade school on a full-time basis.

The scholarship recipients were selected based on financial need, academic ability, personal letter and recommendations.