AAUW installs officers

The American Association of University Women Maui’s elected officers were installed by past president Dorothy Tolliver Sept. 26 at Tante’s Restaurant in Kahului.

Officers are Martha Dean, co-president; Cathy Thompson, vice president programs; and Leslie Granat, co-vice president membership. Installed in absentia were Co-President Janet Walker, Finance Officer Ron Bergman and Secretary Bonnie King.

In addition, Tolliver installed chairpersons Janet Go, publicity; Sandra Boll, communications; Suzanne Young, funds; Wilika Asimont, diversity; and Jean Keating, corresponding secretary.

Tolliver, scholarship and university chairperson, introduced Cheska Rhose Liwag, one of the three STEM (science, technology, engineering, math) students at University of Hawaii Maui College who were selected to receive $2,000 AAUW scholarships for the coming school year.

“Thanks for helping me complete my last two years and reach my goal of a bachelor’s degree in applied science and information technology,” Liwag told AAUW members. Born in the Philippines, Liwag and her parents, both college graduates, moved to Maui when Liwag was 3 years old. At Maui High School, she was on the Robotics Club team. A UH-MC STEM student, Liwag is carrying a full 15-credit load with a 3.77 grade-point average. Her hobby is photography, and she volunteers with the Maui Economic Development Board’s Women in Technology program.

Two additional AAUW scholarship recipients were STEM students Emily Graham and Kate M. Hamre, who were not present.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)