Ten Maui County students awarded scholarships

The Mamoru and Aiko Takitani Foundation has awarded 10 high school seniors from Maui and Molokai scholarship awards in its annual Legacy Scholarship Program. And Kamehameha Schools Maui senior Hunter Worth has been selected for one of the Takitani Foundation’s highest awards, the Karen Uno Distinguished Student Scholarship Award of $8,000. Eight other Maui seniors from each received $2,000 awards.

The students were among 63 recipients, one from each qualifying public and independent school in the state, who received scholarships based on academic achievement, community service and financial need. In total, the foundation awarded $181,000 to students throughout the state in its Legacy Scholarship Program this year.

“Mr. and Mrs. Takitani founded Hawaiian Host, and knew hard work, innovation and commitment to excellence were key factors in their success,” said KSSK Radio personality Michael W. Perry, the Takitani Foundation chairman of the board. “The Takitanis wanted to recognize those same qualities in Hawaii’s outstanding students with support to further their education.”

Worth, the son of James and Eleanor Worth, received numerous scholastic achievement and service awards throughout his high school career. In addition to his academic accomplishments, Worth maintained an active role at school as president of the student body, participant in STEMPREP and representative in MDSCO.

Active in the community as well, Worth volunteered on a Kalaupapa Mission Trip and Zip Line Tree Planting activity, and has been a lector at his church. Worth will attend Princeton University in New Jersey this fall.

Nikki Zamani of Lahainalua High School was the recipient of the $5,000 district finalist award. She is the daughter of Ardie and Tahereh Zamani, and will attend the University of Hawaii at Manoa in the fall.

Recipients of $2,000 scholarships from Maui District public schools are: Kiki Bekkum of Hana High & Elementary School; Caitlin Villarosa of Baldwin High School; Janine Harris of King Kekaulike High School; Lino Yoshikawa of Maui High School; and Caele Manley of Molokai High School.

The Takitani recipients of $2,000 scholarships from the Hawaii Association of Independent Schools are Griffin Sagar of Maui Preparatory Academy and Darby Mulligan of Seabury Hall. Krislyn Martinez of St. Anthony School was the Hawaii Catholic Schools $2,000 recipient.

Mamoru and Aiko Takitani founded Hawaiian Host Inc., manufacturer of Hawaiian Host chocolates, and established the Takitani Foundation to give back to the community by providing the gift of education to the young people of Hawaii.