University women award three scholarships

The American Association of University Women awarded scholarships to three students at the University of Hawaii Maui College during a ceremony May 1 at UH-MC. The students were Marnie Meuser, Lingli Arakaki and Vanessa Chavez.

Meuser received the $2,000 Dorothy Shimer Scholarship, which honors a founding member of the AAUW Maui Branch. Meuser, who received an AAUW scholarship last year, is working toward a degree and is employed at the Kealia Wildlife Refuge. She also works for the Pacific Remote Island Marine National Monuments.

Arakaki received the $2,000 Harriet Haines Scholarship, which honors a 1962 founding member of AAUW Maui Branch. Also a recipient of an AAUW scholarship last year, Arakaki received her associate degree in liberal arts. She will pursue a bachelor of arts degree in interdisciplinary studies from University of Hawaii at Manoa under a distance learning program and focus on sustainability and translation/interpretation.

Chavez, a second-year nursing student, received a $2,000 Heritage Scholarship in memory of Cornelia Spanier, a longtime member of AAUW Maui Branch. In a letter to AAUW, Chavez thanked members for their generosity and support. She said, “Some of my financial stresses are alleviated” by the scholarship.

Annually since 1987, AAUW Maui Branch has awarded scholarships to women who have completed two years of post-secondary education and plan to continue at UH-MC. Proceeds from the branch’s whale watch fund the program. AAUW’s mission is to advance equity for women and girls through advocacy, education, philanthropy, and research.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)