MNPDA bestows awards during annual meeting

The Maui Non Profit Directors Association held its annual Meeting and Leadership Awards Ceremony at the Maui Arts & Cultural Center from 5:30 to 7:30 p.m. Oct. 11.

The event was attended by more than 100 nonprofit directors, volunteers, community members and sitting politicians and candidates. Second Circuit Court Judge Peter Cahill presided over the installation of officers for MNPDA for 2018-19.

A certificate of appreciation was presented to Paula Ambre, former executive director of The Maui Farm, for her 28 years of service to the agency and the community.

There were five nominees for the Community Business Award: Despins General Construction, Hawai’i Pacific Solar, Maui Coffee Roasters, Maui Electric Co. and Maui No Ka Oi Magazine.

The winner was Maui Coffee Roasters for its many efforts on behalf of the community and contributions to the nonprofit community.

There were six nominees for the Humanitarian of the Year Award: Kelvin Alexander, Lynn Araki-Regan, Sandra Florence, Troy Osorno, Jacob Simons and Randy Yamashita.

The award was presented to Florence for her tireless efforts with Hui Noeau Visual Arts Center and Maui Memorial Medical Center, among others.

The final award of the night was for the Executive Director of the Year. The four nominees were: Debbie Cabebe from Maui Economic Opportunity Inc., Aaron Kibota from People Attentive to Children (PATCH), Nancy La Joy from Pacific Cancer Foundation, and Chantal Ratte from Ka Lima O Maui.

Ratte was the winner of the award.