10 county teachers earn, renew national certification

The state Department of Education has announced that 63 of its teachers statewide have earned or renewed their National Board for Professional Teaching Standards Certification — a mark of distinction recognizing accomplished teaching.

The teachers voluntarily undertook and completed the profession’s highest mark of achievement through a performance-based process, demonstrating their impact on student learning and achievement.

They join more than 650 National Board Certified teachers in Hawaii, ranking Hawaii 11th in the country for the percentage of teachers who are National Board Certified.

“The level of dedication shown by these teachers speaks volumes about their commitment to excellence in teaching and we sincerely applaud their efforts,” said Cynthia Covell, assistant superintendent of the department’s Office of Talent Management. “We look forward to supporting their professional development and providing well-earned incentives for their achievements.”

The following 10 DOE teachers from Maui County earned or renewed their certification: Mary Jean Bega, Pukalani Elementary; Lani Espinoza, Kihei Elementary; Andrea French, Hana High and Elementary; Jennifer Kaopua, Waihee Elementary; Greta Martinez Vides, Kualapuu Elementary Public Charter School; Teresa Rosario, Maui High; Kathleen Schaffer-Barr, Kihei Elementary; Rodney Wade, Kihei Elementary; Julia Wagner, Princess Nahienaena Elementary; and Andrea Yuen, Kaunakakai Elementary.