Foundation awards 10 college scholarships

Maui senior wins Top District Award

The Mamoru and Aiko Takitani Foundation Inc. has awarded 10 high school seniors from Maui County scholarship awards in its annual Legacy Scholarship Program. Lahainaluna High School senior Stacia Eng has been selected as Maui District’s Finalist, winning a $5,000 scholarship. nine other Maui seniors received $2,000 scholarship awards.

The students were among 62 recipients, one from each qualifying public and independent school in the state, who received scholarships based on academic achievement, community service and financial need. In total, the foundation awarded $176,000 to students throughout the state in its Legacy Scholarship Program this year.

Eng, the daughter of Kelsie Matsuo, earned a noteworthy record in academics and was recognized on the school’s Honor Roll throughout high school. She served as the school’s National Honor Society president and maintained a keen interest in student government there. A member of the Hawaiiana Club, Eng also was an avid paddler on the Lahainaluna Paddling team and served as a tutor with the Lahainaluna Tutoring Project. A frequent participant in numerous community activities, Eng will attend Washington State University in the fall.

Recipients of $2,000 scholarships from Maui District public schools are: Marley Moea’i of Hana High & Elementary School; Josh Ooka of Baldwin High School; Caroline Stevenson of King Kekaulike High School; Aileen Pascua of Lanai High and Elementary School; Brandon Yoshikawa of Maui High School; and of Kawohikukapulani Duvauchelle of Molokai High School.

The Takitani recipients of $2,000 scholarships from the Hawai’i Association of Independent Schools are Kalena Pfaeltzer of Seabury Hall and Kiana Liu of Kamehameha Schools Maui. Makenna Cockett of St. Anthony School is named the Hawaii Catholic Schools $2,000 recipient.